Example 1

Example 1

Adventure Superplot Number 1: Search

 “From the depths of hell, I will haunt you. With my last breath I will spew my hate towards you.” 

Captain Ahab – in: Moby Dick (1956)


Short info: Search
  Something significant is sought.

What is the superplot “Search” about?

Whoever goes on a search has something that he wants to find or find again. You are looking for objects, places, people or challenges. A search should be charged with the strongest possible emotions, such as a great reward. Only those who burn for something will take on a difficult journey. In Greek mythology, for example, Jason searched for the Golden Fleece and had to pass many tests to finally get it. This story is still told similarly thousands of years later: Archetypically, the search is about robbery, love, trials, battles, a treasure, a reward or a great expectation.

What are the figure targets?

The object or person being sought, often because they have been lost, must be of great importance. Usually the searched for increases the power of its owner. Ideally there is a bad guy who is also interested in the object or person. The seekers are almost always the good guys. The schematization in good and evil is a basic element of adventure stories. Apart from the search and the obstacles the author has to invent, there is also a riddle to solve about the object or person sought.

The narrative history of the plot…

A search is only exciting when there is a difficult terrain to master. Historically, the search for an object or a person goes back to the “Underworld Visit”[i]. It is about entering a dark realm and “learning about the region to which [the traveller], according to many beliefs, he [the traveller] reaches after death, but which is closed to the living and from which no one has ever returned”[ii].

One of the first sources reporting about an underworld journey is “The Egyptian Book of the Dead” (16th century B.C.). Similar stories about a heroic journey to the underworld can be found in Greek and Roman antiquity, for example in the Orpheus myth. It is always about a hero proving his courage in several trials and rising above himself.

The theme of “search” is the central element around which every adventure story revolves. It is therefore of great importance. Some travelers are looking for a way to point X, others are looking for an animal, and still others are trying to free a person.

The search for a lost object is not quite as exciting and emotionally appealing as the search for a kidnapped or lost person, for example. On the other hand, a lost object can hold more magic and mystery than a person.

A lost object (a relic, a treasure etc.) should always appear mysterious and never be fully explained at the beginning. So you reserve the right to add another tension component to the story by finding the item.

The search-plot forms the framework for your story, so to speak. In the middle (in the second act) you can tell other plots (“overcoming obstacles”, “race” or “developing friendship”).

Film samples are …

The Good, the Bad and the Ugly (1966) with Clint Eastwood

Guardians of the Galaxy (2014) with Vin Diesel

Marvel’s The Avengers (2012) with Robert Downey Jr.

The Searchers (1956) with John Wayne

Sahara (2005) with Matthew McConaughey

Pirates of the Caribbean (2003) with Johnny Depp

Moby Dick (1956) with Gregory Peck

Finding Nemo (2003)

Jack and the Giant Slayer (2013) with Nicholas Hoult

Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time (2010) with Jake Gyllenhaal

Cowboys & Aliens (2011) with Daniel Craig

Twister (1996) with Helen Hunt

Master and Commander (2003) with Russell Crowe

Jaws (1975) with Roy Scheider


Frenzel, Elisabeth Motifs from world literature. Stuttgart 1992.
p. 713ff.

Frenzel, Elisabeth Motifs from world literature. Stuttgart 1992.
p. 713


Use the drop-down menu under “Adventure” or click here to read on.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Beispiel 1

Beispiel 1

Abenteuer-Superplot Nummer 1: Suche

 „Aus den tiefsten Tiefen der Hölle will ich dich verfolgen. Mit meinem letzten Atemzug speie ich dir meinen Hass entgegen.“  

Kapitän Ahab – in: Moby Dick (1956)

Kurz-Info: Suche
  Etwas Bedeutsames wird gesucht.

Wovon handelt der Superplot „Suche“?

Wer auf die Suche geht, hat etwas, das er finden oder wiederfinden will. Gesucht werden Gegenstände, Orte, Menschen oder Herausforderungen. Eine Suche sollte mit möglichst starken Emotionen aufgeladen sein, etwa einer großen Belohnung. Nur wer für etwas brennt, nimmt eine beschwerliche Reise auf sich. In der griechischen Mythologie etwa suchte Jason das Goldene Vlies und musste viele Prüfungen bestehen, um es schließlich zu bekommen. Diese Story wird Tausende Jahre später immer noch ähnlich erzählt: Archetypisch geht es bei der Suche um Raub, Liebe, Prüfungen, Kämpfe, einen Schatz, um eine Belohnung oder eine große Erwartung.

Um welche Figurenziele geht es?

Das Objekt oder die Person, die gesucht wird, häufig weil sie verloren gegangen ist, muss von großer Wichtigkeit sein. Meist vergrößert das Gesuchte die Macht seines Besitzers. Idealerweise gibt es einen Bösewicht, der ebenfalls Interesse an dem Objekt oder der Person hat. Die Suchenden sind fast immer die Guten. Die Schematisierung in Gut und Böse ist ein grundlegendes Element von Abenteuergeschichten. Neben der Suche und den Hindernissen, die der Autor erfinden muss, gilt es noch ein Rätsel um das gesuchte Objekt oder die gesuchte Person zu lüften.

Die Erzählhistorie des Plots …

Eine Suche ist nur dann spannend, wenn es ein schwieriges Terrain zu bewältigen gilt. Historisch betrachtet geht die Suche nach einem Gegenstand oder einer Person auf den „Unterweltbesuch“[i] zurück. Es geht darum, in ein dunkles Reich einzudringen und dort etwas „über die Region zu erfahren, in die er [der Reisende] gemäß vielen Glaubensvorstellungen nach dem Tode gelangt, die den Lebendigen jedoch verschlossen ist und aus der noch nie jemand zurückkehrte.“[ii]

Eine der ersten Quellen, die von einer Unterweltreise berichtet, ist „Das ägyptische Totenbuch“ (16. Jh. v.Chr.). Ähnliche Geschichten um eine Heldenreise in die Unterwelt finden sich in der griechischen und römischen Antike, zum Beispiel im Orpheus-Mythos. Immer geht es darum, dass ein Held in mehreren Prüfungen seinen Mut beweist und über sich hinauswächst.

Das Thema der „Suche“ ist das zentrale Element, um das jede Abenteuergeschichte kreist. Es ist deswegen von großer Bedeutsamkeit. Manche Reisende suchen einen Weg nach Punkt X, andere suchen ein Tier, wieder andere versuchen eine Person zu befreien.

Die Suche nach einem verlorenen Gegenstand ist nicht ganz so spannend und emotional zugkräftig wie etwa die Suche nach einer entführten oder verlorenen Person. Andererseits kann ein verlorenes Objekt mehr Magie und Rätselhaftigkeit in sich bergen als eine Person.

Ein verlorenes Objekt (ein Relikt, ein Schatz etc.) sollte immer rätselhaft erscheinen und niemals zu Beginn in vollem Umfang erklärt werden. So behalten Sie sich vor, mit dem Auffinden des Gegenstands eine weitere Spanungskomponente in die Story einzubringen.

Der Suche-Plot bildet gewissermaßen den Rahmen für Ihre Story. In der Mitte (im zweiten Akt) können Sie weitere Plots („Hindernisse bewältigen“, „Wettlauf“ oder „entstehende Freundschaft“) erzählen.

Filmbeispiele sind …

Zwei glorreiche Halunken (1966)

Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)

Marvel´s The Avengers (2012)

Der schwarze Falke (1956)

Trouble ohne Paddel (2004)

Sahara – Abenteuer in der Wüste (2005)

Fluch der Karibik (2003)

Moby Dick (1956)

Findet Nemo (2003)

Jack and the Giants (2013)

Prince of Persia: Der Sand der Zeit (2010)

Cowboys & Aliens (2011)

Twister (1996)

Master and Commander (2003)

Der weiße Hai (1975)


[i] Frenzel, Elisabeth. Motive der Weltliteratur. Stuttgart 1992.
S. 713ff.

[ii] Frenzel, Elisabeth. Motive der Weltliteratur. Stuttgart 1992.
S. 713


Nutze zum Weiterlesen das Drop-Down-Menü unter „Abenteuer“ oder klicke hier.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.