Example 3

Example 3

Adventure superplot no. 3: Loss of companions


 “Something’s out there waiting for us, and it’s not human. We’re all gonna die here.” 

Billy – off: Predator (1987)


Short info: Loss of companions
  A group of companions is decimated.

What is the superplot “loss of companions” about?

The plot of “Loss of Companions” is ideally about tough, emotionless people who have to endure so much human loss on their journey that their own lives seem worth living again. Through the death of others the protagonist starts to feel again. The setting of the plot is mostly dark and threatening.

What are the figure targets?

It requires an overpowering opponent, a real and/or atmospheric narrowness that leads to the decimation of the companions, and a group whose social cohesion is not too close. The protagonist tries to keep his team together and prevent losses. Only a group that is not very close to each other can cope with the fact that their troop is decimated. It is also possible that a dispute about the best way to reach the goal develops.

At the centre of this plot is the loss of companions on a journey. In search of a destination, a group is decimated. And again, there is a powerful enemy against whom the companions hardly stand a chance. In the end, a single fighter or a greatly reduced group remains, which should defeat the enemy.

Film samples are …

Predator (1987) with Arnold Schwarzenegger

The wild geese (1978) with Richard Burton

Saving Private Ryan (1998) with Tom Hanks

3:10 to Yuma (2007) with Christian Bale

Pitch Black (2000) with Vin Diesel

King Kong (2005) with Jack Black

Anaconda (1997) with Jennifer Lopez

similar:

The Thin Red Line (1998) with James Caviezel

Beispiel 3

Beispiel 3

Abenteuer-Superplot Nr. 3: Verlust von Gefährten

 „Irgendwas lauert da draußen auf uns und es ist kein Mensch. Wir werden hier alle sterben.“  

Billy – aus: Predator (1987)

Kurz-Info:  Verlust von Gefährten
  Eine Gruppe von Gefährten wird dezimiert.

Wovon handelt der Superplot „Verlust von Gefährten“?

Der Plot vom „Verlust von Gefährten“ handelt idealerweise von harten, emotionslosen Menschen, die auf ihrer Reise so viel menschliche Verluste ertragen müssen, dass ihnen ihr eigenes Leben wieder wert zu leben erscheint. Durch den Tod anderer beginnt der Protagonist wieder zu spüren. Das Umfeld der Handlung ist meist düster und bedrohlich.

Um welche Figurenziele geht es?

Es bedarf eines übermächtigen Gegners, einer realen und/oder atmosphärischen Enge, die dazu führt, dass die Gefährten dezimiert werden, und einer Gruppe, deren sozialer Zusammenhalt nicht allzu eng ist. Der Protagonist versucht sein Team zusammen zu halten und Verluste zu verhindern. Nur eine nicht sehr eng befreundete Gruppe kommt damit klar, dass ihre Truppe dezimiert wird. Es kann außerdem sein, dass sich ein Streit über den besten Weg zum Ziel entwickelt.

Im Zentrum dieses Plots steht der Verlust von Gefährten auf einer Reise. Auf der Suche nach einem Ziel wird eine Gruppe dezimiert. Und auch hier gibt es einen mächtigen Gegner, gegen den die Gefährten kaum eine Chance haben. Am Ende bleibt ein einzelner Kämpfer oder eine stark reduzierte Gruppe übrig, die den Gegner besiegen sollte.

Filmbeispiele sind …

Predator (1987)

Die Wildgänse kommen (1978)

Der Soldat James Ryan (1998)

Todeszug nach Yuma (2007)

Pitch Black (2000)

King Kong (2005)

Anaconda (1997)

ähnlich:

Der schmale Grat (1998)