Introduction

Introduction

Introduction

Whether novel, series or feature film: all crime novels work according to a certain scheme, or in other words “according to a certain formula”. You have certainly noticed that many crime novels are similar. This is because they follow the same plot.

The plot level is a higher level in terms of content. For example, there are crime novels in which several suspects are interviewed and are under suspicion. I refer to such a crime plot as “an ensemble of suspects”. But there is much more than just this one crime plot. I have identified a total of 28 such higher-level crime plots, which I call superplots, for the genre of crime fiction. These plots are “super” because they are above all other plots and have a real success factor for you as an author.

Superplots help you to separate stories from each other and thus to recognize the core of your story more easily. Believe me: A common problem for authors is that they can’t see the unique core of their story. Once you understand that almost all crime novels come down to a manageable number of only 28 Superplots, you will reach a new level of story understanding.

At this point I would like to make an important genre-specific distinction to the genre of the thriller. Because many crime stories with an investigator are often also called thrillers. The main characteristic of the thriller, however, is that no professional investigator is looking for something there, but a layman. This layman is confronted with hostility in the thriller. His life is threatened. He can hardly defend himself. In the crime story, on the other hand, we have experienced policemen or detectives who are relatively good with violence and can defend themselves.

A dead man belongs to the criminal story as salt belongs to soup. The dead doesn’t always have to be there from the beginning. A murder can also happen later. That depends entirely on the story. Don’t be too good. The reader or viewer has a certain expectation. He is looking for a murder or a serious crime in a crime story and wants to follow the solving of it.

To continue reading, use the drop-down menu under “Crime Story” or click here .

Prolog

Prolog

Einleitung

Egal ob Roman, Serie oder Spielfilm: alle Krimis funktionieren nach einem bestimmten Schema, oder anders gesagt „nach einer bestimmten Formel“. Ihnen ist sicherlich schon aufgefallen, dass sich viele Krimis ähneln. Das liegt daran, dass sie demselben Plot folgen.

Die Plot-Ebene ist eine inhaltlich übergeordnete Ebene. Zum Beispiel gibt es Krimis, bei denen mehrere Verdächtige befragt werden und unter Verdacht stehen. Ich bezeichne solch einen Krimi-Plot als „Ein Ensemble von Verdächtigen“. Es gibt jedoch viel mehr als nur diesen einen Krimi-Plot. Ich habe für das Genre Krimi insgesamt 28 solcher übergeordneter Krimi-Plots, die ich als Superplots bezeichne, ausgemacht. Diese Plots sind deswegen „super“, weil sie über allen anderen Plots stehen und für Sie als Autor einen echten Erfolgsfaktor besitzen.

Superplots dienen Ihnen dazu, Storys voneinander abzugrenzen und so den Kern Ihrer Geschichte leichter zu erkennen. Glauben Sie mir: Ein häufiges Problem von Autoren ist, dass sie den einzigartigen Kern ihrer Geschichte nicht erkennen können. Wenn Sie erst einmal verstehen, dass fast alle Krimis auf eine überschaubare Anzahl von insgesamt nur 28 Superplots hinauslaufen, dann gelangen Sie auf eine neue Ebene des Verstehens von Geschichten.

Eine wichtige genrespezifische Abgrenzung möchte ich an dieser Stelle zum Genre des Thrillers vornehmen. Denn viele Kriminalgeschichten mit einem Ermittler werden oft auch als Thriller bezeichnet. Das wesentliche Kennzeichen des Thrillers ist jedoch, dass dort kein Profi-Ermittler etwas sucht, sondern ein Laie. Dieser Laie sieht sich im Thriller mit Anfeindungen konfrontiert. Sein Leben wird bedroht. Er kann sich nur schwerlich wehren. Im Krimi hingegen haben wir erfahrene Polizisten oder Detektive, die mit Gewalt relativ gut umgehen und sich zur Wehr setzen können.

Ein Toter gehört zum Krimi, wie das Salz zur Suppe. Der Tote muss nicht immer schon von Anfang an vorhanden sein. Ein Mord kann auch erst später geschehen. Das hängt ganz von der Geschichte ab. Seien Sie nicht allzu brav. Der Leser oder Zuschauer hat eine gewisse Erwartungshaltung. Er sucht im Krimi einen Mord oder ein schweres Verbrechen und will die Aufklärung desselben mitverfolgen.

Nutze zum Weiterlesen das Drop-Down-Menü unter „Krimi“ oder klicke hier.