Example 2

Example 2

Love story superplot number 6:

Love lies


 “Every man has the chance to charm any woman he wants. With the right wand.” 

Hitch – in: Hitch (2005)


 
Short info: Love lies

 A relationship is built on a lie or concealment. However, the lied person experiences emotional liberation through the liar and believes to have found the ideal partner.

What is the superplot “Love Lies” about?

Through a lie two people come together and become a couple. This plot is basically about adorning oneself with false feathers in order to be able to love an unreachable partner. Those who resort to this strategy of partner search act with disguise, pretence and lies.

What are the figure targets?

Often one of the partners pretends to be in love and pretends to love in order to enrich himself materially. The victim, who is sitting on the lie, usually experiences an emotional release and believes to have found the ideal partner. When the lie comes to light, the liberated person experiences an emotional setback.

The historical development of the plot

In this plot, one person pretends to be someone else in order to gain the trust of another person, or claims something untrue. Deception and lies are ways of getting to know a person who would otherwise never be considered a partner, and a good way to bring two completely opposite characters together.

Thus a dream couple is created, which in the end experiences a nightmare when the whole lie is revealed – but only temporarily. Because during their time together, both have learned from each other and changed, so that somehow they can fit together in the end.

The lie that gets everything rolling should be rather harmless. It is not about the lying person wanting to play with and hurt the feelings of the other person, but the lie is supposed to draw the other person out of his or her reserve – to free him or her emotionally.

There are four forms of lying…

A lie about money: This lie aims at enriching oneself by loving someone else or to gain a professional advantage (“How to Marry a Millionaire” (1953), “What women want” (2000), “Heartbreakers” (2001))

Lying to conquer someone unreachable: Someone lies to get a partner who is very good-looking, for example (“Hitch” (2005), “Wedding Crashers” (2005), “Pillow Talk” (1959), “Some like it hot” (1959)).

Lying out of an assignment: Someone gets money if he seduces and conquers another (“10 Things I hate about you” (1999), “Kiss me, stupid” (1964)).

Lying out of genuine love for a person: Someone pretends to be someone else because he or she loves a person, but usually cannot get close to her or him (“Maid in Manhattan” (2002), “There’s Something About Mary” (1998)).

Here too, there must be no third person. So the relationship must not be kept secret – only the lie.

In the history of literature, the figure of the liar is closely connected with that of the impostor. First sources are not found before the 17th century. [i] An impostor is a kind of noble thief. He differs from the schemer in that he does not break the hearts of women, but makes them blossom.

The Spanish poet Lope de Vega (1562-1635) was one of the first to describe in “El caballero del milagro” (1593) a kind of soldier of fortune who is a loudmouth on the one hand and a womanizer on the other. He pretends to be a rich man through his attractiveness and his clothes and thus wins the favour of the women. When he wants to flee the country with the crooked money, he is betrayed by his servant.  

In the literature there are various impostor figures or liars. Some lie for love, others for prestige or money. Many writers of world literature have written about impostors because they expose the mendacity of society and obedience to authority in such a wonderful way.

Molière (1622-1673) created one of the most famous impostors with “Tartüffe” (1664). The allegedly pious swindler Tartüffe tries to swindle the large fortune of a wealthy citizen. In addition, he is supposed to get the daughter of the bourgeois to his wife. The fact that nothing comes of this is thanks to the daughter’s fiancé, who unmasks Tartüffe in detective manner.

Film samples are …

How to Marry a Millionaire (1953) with Marylin Monroe

Heartbreakers (2001) with Sigourney Weaver

Wedding crashers (2005) with Owen Wilson

What women want (2000) with Mel Gibson

10 things I hate about you (1999) with Heath Ledger

Pillow talk (1959) with Doris Day

Hitch (2005) with Will Smith

There’s Something About Mary (1998) with Ben Stiller

Some like it hot (1959) with Marylin Monroe

Kiss me, stupid (1964) with Kim Novak

Maid in Manhattan (2002) with Jennifer Lopez


Cf also Frenzel, Elisabeth. Motifs from world literature. Stuttgart 1992. p. 370


To continue reading, use the drop-down menu under “Love Story” or click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Beispiel 2

Beispiel 2

Lovestory Superplot Nr. 6: Liebeslügen


 „Jeder Mann hat die Chance, jede beliebige Frau zu verzaubern. Mit dem richtigen Zauberstab.“  

Hitch – in: Hitch – der Date Doktor (2005)

 
Kurz-Info: Liebeslügen
 
Eine Beziehung baut auf einer Lüge oder Verheimlichung auf. Der Belogene erlebt aber durch den Lügner eine emotionale Befreiung und glaubt, den idealen Partner gefunden zu haben.

Wovon handelt der Superplot „Liebeslügen“?

Durch eine Lüge kommen zwei Menschen zusammen und werden ein Paar. Bei diesem Plot geht es im Kern darum, sich mit falschen Federn zu schmücken, um einen unerreichbaren Partner lieben zu können. Diejenigen, die zu dieser Strategie der Partnersuche greifen, agieren mit Verkleidung, Verstellung und Lügen.

Um welche Figurenziele geht es?

Oft verstellt sich der eine Partner und täuscht Liebe vor, um sich materiell zu bereichern. Das Opfer, das der Lüge aufsitzt, erlebt dabei meist eine emotionale Befreiung und glaubt den idealen Partner gefunden zu haben. Wenn die Lüge ans Tageslicht kommt, erlebt die befreite Person einen emotionalen Rückschlag.

Die historische Entwicklung des Plots

Bei diesem Plot verstellt sich eine Person, um das Vertrauen einer anderen Person zu erschleichen, oder behauptet etwas Unwahres. Verstellung und Lüge sind Möglichkeiten, eine Person kennenzulernen, die sonst nie als Partner infrage käme, und eine gute Möglichkeit, zwei völlig konträre Charaktere zusammenzubringen.

So entsteht ein Traumpaar, das am Ende einen Alptraum erlebt, wenn die ganze Lüge auffliegt – allerdings nur vorübergehend. Denn während des Zusammenseins haben beide voneinander gelernt und sich verändert, sodass sie irgendwie am Ende doch zusammenpassen können.

Die Lüge, die alles ins Rollen bringt, sollte eher harmloser Natur sein. Es geht nicht darum, dass die lügende Person mit den Gefühlen der anderen spielen und diese verletzen will, sondern die Lüge soll die andere Person aus der Reserve locken – sie also emotional befreien.

Es gibt vier Varianten der Lüge …

Eine Lüge des Geldes wegen: Diese Lüge zielt darauf ab, sich durch die Liebe zu einem anderen zu bereichern oder einen beruflichen Vorteil daraus zu ziehen („Wie angelt man sich einen Millionär?“ (1953), „Was Frauen wollen“ (2000), „Heartbreakers“ (2001))

Lügen, um jemand Unerreichbaren zu erobern: Jemand lügt, um einen Partner zu bekommen, der zum Beispiel sehr gut aussieht („Hitch – der Date Doktor“ (2005), „Die Hochzeits-Crasher“ (2005), „Bettgeflüster“ (1959), „Manche mögen’s heiß“ (1959)).

Lügen aus einem Auftrag heraus: Jemand bekommt Geld, wenn er einen anderen verführt und erobert („10 Dinge, die ich an dir hasse“ (1999), „Küss mich, Dummkopf“ (1964)).

Lügen aus echter Liebe zu einer Person: Jemand gibt vor, ein anderer zu sein, weil er eine Person liebt, ihr aber normalerweise nicht nahe kommen kann („Manhattan Love Story“ (2002), „Verrückt nach Mary“ (1998)).

Auch hier darf es keine dritte Person geben. Die Beziehung muss also nicht geheim gehalten werden – sondern nur die Lüge.

Die Figur des Lügners ist in der Literaturgeschichte eng mit der des Hochstaplers verbunden. Erste Quellen finden sich nicht vor dem 17. Jahrhundert.[i] Ein Hochstapler ist eine Art vornehmer Dieb. Er unterscheidet sich vom Intriganten, indem er die Herzen von Frauen nicht bricht, sondern sie erst zum Erblühen bringt. 

Als einer der Ersten beschreibt der spanische Dichter Lope de Vega (1562–1635) in „El caballero del milagro“ (1593) eine Art Glücksritter, der zum einen ein Großmaul und zum anderen ein Frauenheld ist. Er täuscht durch seine Attraktivität und seine Kleidung einen reichen Mann vor und erringt so die Gunst der Frauen. Als er mit dem ergaunerten Geld außer Landes fliehen will, wird er von seinem Diener verraten.   

In der Literatur finden sich verschiedene Hochstaplerfiguren oder Lügner. Manche lügen der Liebe wegen, andere des Ansehens oder des Geldes wegen. Viele Autoren der Weltliteratur haben über Hochstapler geschrieben, weil diese die Verlogenheit der Gesellschaft und Obrigkeitshörigkeit der Menschen auf so wunderbare Weise entlarven.

Einen der berühmtesten Hochstapler hat Molière (1622–1673) mit „Tartüffe“ (1664) geschaffen. Der angeblich fromme Betrüger Tartüffe versucht das große Vermögen eines wohlhabenden Bürgers zu erschleichen. Zudem soll er noch die Tochter des Bürgers zur Frau bekommen. Dass daraus nichts wird, ist dem Verlobten der Tochter zu verdanken, der in Detektiv-Manier Tartüffe entlarvt.

Filmbeispiele sind …

Wie angelt man sich einen Millionär? (1953)

Heartbreakers (2001)

Die Hochzeits-Crasher (2005)

Was Frauen wollen (2000)

10 Dinge, die ich an dir hasse (1999)

Bettgeflüster (1959)

Hitch – der Date Doktor (2005)

Verrückt nach Mary (1998)

Manche mögen´s heiß (1959)

Küss mich, Dummkopf (1964)

Manhattan Love Story (2002)


[i] Vgl. dazu auch Frenzel, Elisabeth. Motive der Weltliteratur.
Stuttgart 1992. S. 370


Nutze zum Weiterlesen das Drop-Down-Menü unter „Love Story“ oder klicke hier.