Example 3

Example 3

Thriller superplot no. 4:
Save/protect someone


“It’s a game, a game you play whether you like it or not. To you it’s a matter of feeling, to Peter’s kidnapper it’s a business. The sooner you get used to the idea, the easier it will be.”

off: Proof of Life (2000)

Short info: Save/protect someone
A person must take a high risk in order to save and/or protect another person.

What is the superplot “Save/Protect Someone” about?

Either a person has been kidnapped or they’re going to be killed. Either way, a person’s life is in danger. A protector comes and tries to save the life of the person. Or one tries to protect the life of the person from a distance. There are negotiations and a search for the endangered person and in the end a duel with the hostage-takers or with those who are endangered.

What are the figure targets?

A helpless person is threatened. She is kidnapped or about to be killed. Usually it is a group of dangerous people who are trying to kill the helpless person. A rescuer figure, who is often the protagonist of the action, appears who tries to protect the person. There are either several duels with the dangerous persons or a negotiation that fails or threatens to fail. The rescuer tries to eliminate the companions, because otherwise there is no hope for the helpless person.

Further notes on the plot …

Stories with this plot are on the one hand very story-driven. On the other hand, they also show a psychological duel between the protagonist and his companions. Usually it is about kidnapping or a murder with announcement. This is followed by a character who either has a personal contact or the order to provide help. She is supposed to protect and save the helpless person.

Film samples are …

Terminator 2 – Judgment Day (1991) with Arnold Schwarzenegger

The Marine (2006) with John Cena

Taken (2008) with Liam Neeson

Ransom (1996) with Mel Gibson

Olympus has fallen (2013) with Gerard Butler

The Rock (1996) with Sean Connery

The Next Three Days (2010) with Russell Crowe

Proof of Life (2000) with Russell Crowe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Beispiel 3

Beispiel 3

Thriller-Superplot Nr. 4:
Jemanden retten/beschützen


„Es ist ein Spiel, ein Spiel auf das man sich einlässt, ob es einem gefällt oder nicht. Für Sie ist es eine Gefühlssache, für Peters Entführer ist es ein Geschäft. Je eher Sie sich mit dem Gedanken vertraut machen, desto leichter wird es.“

aus: Lebenszeichen – Proof of Life (2000)

Kurz-Info: Jemanden retten/beschützen
  Eine Person muss ein hohes Risiko eingehen, um eine andere Person zu retten und/oder zu beschützen.

Wovon handelt der Superplot „Jemanden retten/beschützen“?

Entweder wurde eine Person entführt oder sie soll getötet werden. Das Leben einer Person ist auf jeden Fall elementar bedroht. Ein Beschützer kommt und versucht das Leben der Person zu retten. Oder aber einer versucht aus der Ferne das Leben der Person zu schützen. Es gibt Verhandlungen und eine Suche nach der gefährdeten Person und am Ende ein Duell mit den Geiselnehmern beziehungsweise mit den Gefährdern. 

Um welche Figurenziele geht es?

Eine hilflose Person wird bedroht. Sie wird entführt oder soll getötet werden. In der Regel ist es eine Gruppe von gefährlichen Personen, die nach dem Leben der hilflosen Person trachtet. Eine Retterfigur, die häufig Protagonist der Handlung ist, taucht auf, die die Person zu beschützen versucht. Es kommt entweder zu mehreren Duellen mit den Gefährdern oder zu einer Verhandlung, die scheitert oder zu scheitern droht. Der Retter versucht die Gefährder zu eliminieren, weil es ansonsten keinerlei Hoffnung für die hilflose Person gibt.

Weitere Hinweise zum Plot …

Stories mit diesem Plot sind einerseits sehr handlungsbetont. Andererseits zeigen sie zugleich ein psychologisches Duell des Protagonisten mit den Gefährdern. In der Regel geht es um Entführung oder um einen Mord mit Ansage. Daraufhin kommt eine Figur herbei, die entweder einen persönlichen Kontakt oder den Auftrag hat, Hilfe zu leisten. Sie soll die hilflose Person beschützen und retten.

Filmbeispiele sind …

Terminator 2 – Tag der Abrechnung (1991) mit Arnold Schwarzenegger

The Marine (2006) mit John Cena

96 Hours (2008) mit Liam Neeson

Kopfgeld (1996) mit Mel Gibson

Olympus has fallen (2013) mit Gerard Butler

The Rock (1996) mit Sean Connery

72 Stunden (2010) mit Russell Crowe

Lebenszeichen – Proof of Life (2000) mit Russell Crowe