Want & Need

Want & Need

It is similar to the crime story. Here, too, the story starts out from an intact world in which the protagonist finds himself. After that there is a development from “Want” to “Need”. As it is the case with the thriller, a prequel is revealed. This happens especially concerning the protagonist. Thereby he finds out why he is hunted and by whom. Only when he knows that, he can react and turn the tables.

The protagonist thus lives in an idyll from the very beginning, in which a threat penetrates. The protagonist tries to evade the pressure that the threat puts on him (= “Want”). Later he tries to win comrades-in-arms and helpers with whom he can build up a relationship. In the end he finds real friends who stick by him or a partner who loves him (= “Need”). Of course the “Need” depends on the inner logic of a story and can vary.

  The Want-and-Need model for thrillers 
Starting point
The story begins in the everyday world of the protagonist. This world is calm and peaceful. The protagonist has no idea that his ideal world will soon collapse.
The Want
At first, the protagonist tries to escape the threat directed against him. In the further course of time his “shroud” changes. Later, the protagonist wants to take revenge on those who seek to kill him and turns the tables.
The Need
At the end the protagonist gets the satisfaction that he can defeat his tormentors and make them harmless. Moreover, it’s also possible that love or a friendship to a person develops during the course of the plot. The “Need” always also depends on the inner logic of a story.

Use the drop-down menu under “Thriller” to read on or click here.

Want & Need

Want & Need

Ähnlich wie beim Krimi verhält es sich beim Thriller. Auch hier geht die Geschichte von einer heilen Welt aus, in der sich der Protagonist befindet. Danach findet eine Entwicklung vom „Want“ hin zum „Need“ statt. Ebenso wie beim Krimi wird eine Vorgeschichte enthüllt. Dies geschieht vor allem hinsichtlich des Protagonisten. Dabei stellt dieser fest, warum er gejagt wird und von wem. Erst wenn er das weiß, kann er reagieren und den Spieß umdrehen.

Der Protagonist lebt also von Beginn an in einer Idylle, in die eine Bedrohung eindringt. Der Protagonist versucht dem Druck, der durch die Bedrohung auf ihm lastet, auszuweichen (= „Want“). Später versucht er dann Mitstreiter und Helfer zu gewinnen, zu denen sich eine Beziehung aufbauen kann. Am Ende findet er echte Freunde, die zu ihm halten, oder eine Partnerin, die ihn liebt (= „Need“). Natürlich hängt das „Need“ von der inneren Logik einer Story ab und kann variieren.


  Das Want-und-Need-Modell für Thriller  
Ausgangspunkt
Die Story beginnt in der alltäglichen Welt des Protagonisten. Diese Welt ist ruhig und friedlich. Der Protagonist ahnt nicht, dass seine heile Welt bald einstürzen wird.
Das Want
Anfangs versucht der Protagonist der Bedrohung, die gegen ihn gerichtet ist, zu entkommen. Im weiteren Verlauf verändert sich sein „Want“. Der Protagonist will sich später an denen, die ihm nach dem Leben trachten, rächen und dreht den Spieß um.
Das Need
Der Protagonist erhält am Ende die Genugtuung, dass er seine Peiniger besiegen und unschädlich machen kann. Außerdem kann es sein, dass sich im Verlauf der Handlung Liebe oder eine Freundschaft zu einer Person entwickelt. Das „Need“ hängt immer auch von der inneren Logik einer Story ab.

 Nutze zum Weiterlesen das Drop-Down-Menü unter „Thriller“ oder klicke hier.